Batman: THE RIDE

This ride and I go back a long time.  It’s in Six Flags: Great America which is about an hour out of Chicago.  The first time I encountered this ride, I won’t lie. I was terrified.  I must have been around 7, visiting one of my best friends, Lindsay, when she lived in Cary, Il.  She was cool and I was not and she wanted to go on the coaster and as we discussed before, I was terrified and mostly FOOLISH.  I was PRAYING that we wouldn’t be tall enough to get on it and to my relief, we weren’t.  She was pissed, I was elated. It wasn’t until years later, when I moved to Chicago myself at 21 that a friend from Orlando came to visit me and we went to Six Flags and I got a chance to confront the Dark Knight one more time.

While we’re here, let’s get this straight.  At Great America, there is also a Dark Knight Coaster.  I’m not even going to WASTE an entry on that piece of junk because I have no tolerance for roller-coasters-in-a-box.  Batman: The Ride and The Dark Knight Coaster are NEVER to be mistaken for each other. Moving on.

Batman is a suspended coaster, which we all know is not only my favorite but THE GREATEST.

Six Flags doesn’t waste money on creating a cool, immersive waiting line experience like Universal and Disney do, so let’s just say you wait through a million switch-backs and FINALLY get onto the loading platform. Sick. Strap. In. Standard over-the-shoulder harness and you’re out the gate.  Off the lifthill, making your first left turn you shoot into a single loop and right into a tight corkscrew and back into a single loop. Fun? Yes, sir.  A nice horizontal loop comes next and slingshots you into a wide corkscrew, which leads you into ANOTHER tight corkscrew and that’s the last bit of awesomeness before you reach the brake run.  Let’s just sit and think about that for a second.  Is there anything greater than corkscrews?  BETTER than loops, I say, they’re so tight and fast and make your head spin.  Delicious.

Lot’s of HOLY SHIT’S on this. Hilarious.

About saranader

Coaster enthusiast, critic and devotee.
This entry was posted in Suspended Coaster. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

